Report of the Returning Officer - Return of Councillors elected

Lead Officers: Patrick Flaherty – Chief Executive and County Returning Officer and Scott Wooldridge Deputy County Returning Officer

Author: Mike Bryant – Service Manager, Democratic Services & Pippa Triffitt – Business Support, Democratic Services

Contact Details: democraticservices@somerset.gov.uk

1. Summary / Background

1.1 The purpose of this report is to inform the County Council of the persons elected as Members (also known as Councillors) of Somerset County Council at elections held on 5 May 2022.

For the first time in Somerset County Council's history, the election saw 110 Councillors elected to 55 two member divisions. This was in accordance with the Somerset Structural Changes Order 2022 as part of the transition to the new Somerset Council. For their first year in office, elected members will be responsible for all Somerset County Council services before making the transition to become unitary members when the new Somerset Council comes into being on 1 April 2023.

Extensive planning and preparation for the elections was undertaken across the five councils over several months. Verification took place following the close of polls, with counts commencing at 10am on 6 May 2022. The Counts were undertaken at four venues across the County in Bridgwater, Shepton Mallet, Taunton and Yeovil.

The four district councils undertook the verification and counts for the City, Town and Parish Council elections that were also held on 5 May with results announced on 6 and 7 May.

- **1.2** Some key statistics from the election include:
 - The Somerset electorate is 434,652.
 - The overall election turnout was 37% this can be broken down by each voting area as follows:
 - Mendip 39%
 - Sedgemoor 30%
 - Somerset West and Taunton 39%
 - South Somerset 38%
 - 80,923 postal votes were issued.
 - 477 polling stations were used on election day.
 - 1995 people were involved in administering the polling stations on 5 May and the four voting area counts on 6 May.

2. Members Elected

2.1 The following persons were elected to the Council:

DISTRICT	DIVISION	ELECTORATE	% TURNOUT	COUNCILLORS	PARTY
	Bishops Hull & Taunton West	7928	43.2	Caroline Ellis	Liberal Democrat
				John Hunt	Independent
				Ross Henley	Liberal
	Blackdown	8598	40.9		Democrat
	& Neroche			Sarah Wakefield	Liberal Democrat
	Comeytrowe	7908	46.3	Habib Farbahi	Liberal Democrat
	& Trull			Dawn Johnson	Liberal Democrat
	Dulverton &	6726	48.5	Frances Nicholson	Conservative
	Exmoor			Steven Pugsley	Conservative
				Marcus Kravis	Liberal
	Dunster	7097	39.5		Democrat
				Christine Lawrence	Conservative
				Mike Rigby	Liberal
	Lydeard	8162	37.6	Trince ragey	Democrat
				Andy Sully	Liberal Democrat
Somerset	Minehead	7033	39.6	Mandy Chilcott	Conservative
West &				Andy Hadley	Conservative
Taunton	Monkton & North Curry	9658	20.2	Norman Cavill	Conservative
			39.3	David Fothergill	Conservative
	Rowbarton & Staplegrove	7399	35.8	Dixie Darch	Liberal
					Democrat
				Derek Perry	Liberal
				Simon Coles	Democrat Liberal
	Taunton East	8008	26.5	Simon coles	Democrat
				Federica Smith-	Liberal
				Roberts	Democrat
	Taunton North	7628	31.3	Lee Baker	Liberal
					Democrat
				Tom Deakin	Liberal Democrat
	Taunton South	8335	33.9	Hazel Prior-	Liberal
				Sankey	Democrat
				Fran Smith	Liberal Democrat
	Upper Tone	7625	44.6	Dave Mansell	Green
				Gwil Wren	Independent
	Watchet & Stogursey	7736	39	Hugh Davies	Independent
				Rosemary Woods	Conservative

	VAV-IIIt	0712	27	Marcus Barr	Conservative
	Wellington	9712	37	Andrew Govier	Labour
				Bob Filmer	Conservative
	Brent	7966	37.7	Tony Grimes	Conservative
	Bridgwater			Andy Dingwall	Conservative
	East &	9083	26.6	Diogo	
	Bawdrip			Rodrigues	Conservative
	Bridgwater	6973	18.2	Hilary Bruce	Labour
	North & Central			Leigh Redman	Labour
	Bridgwater	7743	20.1	Kathryn Pearce	Labour
	South			Brian Smedley	Labour
	Bridgwater West	7930	26.4	Lance Duddridge	Conservative
	West			Gill Slocombe	Conservative
	Burnham on		36.7	Peter Clayton	Conservative
	Sea North	8010		Mike Murphy	Liberal
Sedgemoor				D: D !:	Democrat
	Cannington	7400	39.1	Brian Bolt	Conservative
				Mike Caswell	Conservative
				Pauline Ham	Liberal Democrat
	Cheddar	7202	39.8	Ben Ferguson	Liberal
				benrenguson	Democrat
	Highbridge & Burnham South	7477	27.3	John Cook-	
				Woodman	Conservative
				Alistair Hendry	Conservative
	Huntspill	7735	32	Suria Aujla	Conservative
				Mark Healey	Conservative
	Kind Alfred	8127	45	Matthew Martin	Liberal
				Hamar Maria	Democrat
				Harry Munt	Liberal Democrat
	North Petherton	7468	34.6	Alan Bradford	Conservative
				Bill Revans	Liberal
					Democrat
	Frome East	9283	34.3	William Collins	Green
				Helen Kay	Green
Mendip	Frome North Frome West	7447 8161	43.7	Adam Boyden	Liberal
					Democrat
				Dawn Denton	Conservative
				Martin Dimery	Green
	Glastonbury	7227	41	Michael Dunk	Green
				Nick Cottle	Liberal Democrat
				Susannah Hart	Conservative
	Mendip Central & East	7427	40.8	Barry Clarke	Conservative
				Philip Ham	Conscivative
					Conservative
	Mendip Hills	7830	38.3	Edric Hobbs	Liberal
	' -				Democrat

				Tony Pobbins	Liberal
				Tony Robbins	Democrat
				Claire Sully	Liberal
	Mandin			Claire Sully	Democrat
	Mendip South	7771	44	Alex Wiltshire	Liberal
	South			Alex WillShire	Democrat
				Heather	Liberal
	Mondin	8101	44.1	Shearer	Democrat
	Mendip West			Ros Wyke	Liberal
				NOS VVYKE	Democrat
				Bente Height	
	Shepton	8331	22.4		Conservative
	Mallet	8331	32.4	Martin Lovell	Liberal
				1:-1	Democrat
		9054	33.7	Liz Leyshon	Liberal Democrat
	Street			Simon Carswell	Liberal
				Simon Carswell	Democrat
				Tagas NAat	
				Tessa Munt	Liberal Democrat
	Wells	8860	43.8	The Distance	
				Theo Butt Philip	Liberal Democrat
				Nicola Clark	Liberal
	Dis along a second			INICOIA CIAIK	Democrat
	Blackmoor Vale	7338	43.6	Sarah Dyke	Liberal
	vale			Saran Dyke	Democrat
				Peter Seib	Liberal
	Brympton	6943		Peter Seib	Democrat
			28.6	Jeny Snell	Liberal
				Jeny Shell	Democrat
	Castle Cary	8038	41.4	Henry	Liberal
				Hobhouse	Democrat
				Mike Lewis	
				Martin Wale	Conservative
	Chard North	8042	36.4		Conservative
				Jenny Kenton	Liberal
					Democrat
	Chard South	6657		Jason Baker	Liberal
South			41.5	C D	Democrat
Somerset				Connor Payne	Conservative
	Crewkerne	7091	48.1	Mike Best	Liberal
					Democrat
				Steve Ashton	Conservative
	Curry Rivel & Langport	8735		Mike Stanton	Liberal
			31.9		Democrat
				Richard Wilkins	Liberal
					Democrat
	East Coker	7533	38.1	Mike Hewitson	Liberal
					Democrat
				Oliver Patrick	Liberal
					Democrat
	Ilminster	8331	48.2	Val Keitch	Liberal
					Democrat
				Sue Osborne	Conservative
	Martock	8442	38.6	John Bailey	Liberal
		- · · · -			Democrat

				Fmil.	Liberal
				Emily	
				Pearlstone	Democrat
		8324		Tim Kerley	Liberal
	Somerton		39		Democrat
				Dean Ruddle	Liberal
					Democrat
	South Petherton & Islemoor	8531	44.3	Adam Dance	Liberal
					Democrat
				Jo Roundell-	Liberal
				Greene	Democrat
	Wincanton & Bruton	8746	45.4	Tom Power	Conservative
				Lucy Trimnell	Conservative
	Yeovil Central	7281	47	Andy Kendall	Liberal
				-	Democrat
				Dave Woan	Liberal
					Democrat
	Yeovil East	8115	25.4	Tony Lock	Liberal
				-	Democrat
				Graham Oakes	Liberal
					Democrat
	Yeovil South	7885	26.4	Faye Purbrick	Conservative
				Andy Soughton	Liberal
				, ,	Democrat
	Yeovil West	6436	37	Evie Potts-	Liberal
				Jones	Democrat
				Wes Read	Liberal
					Democrat